Department Faculty

Photo: Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu
Office: 166 Foran Hall
Phone: 848-932-6331

Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise

Photo: Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: brasaemle@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 311-A Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
Phone: 848-932-6524

Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release

Photo: Paul Breslin, Ph.D.

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 305 Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
Phone: 848-932-6080

Research: Genetic basis of human oral perception and its impact on nutrient intake

Photo: Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RDN, FAND

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RDN, FAND
Extension Specialist, Co-Director of Graduate Program

Email: bredbenner@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 211 Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0965

Research: Nutrition education; health promotion & interventions; environmental effects on dietary intake

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: dixon@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 132 Thompson Hall
Phone: 848-932-9039

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, coronary arteriosclerosis ;Dixon Laboratory

Photo: Hans Fisher, Ph.D.

Hans Fisher, Ph.D.
Professor II Emeritus

Email: fisher@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Alcohol metabolism, nutrient interactions and the alcoholic fatty liver syndrome

Photo: Nurgul Fitzgerald, Ph.D.

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., RDN
Associate Extension Specialist

Email: nfitzgerald@njaes.rutgers.edu
Office: 229-A Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0981

Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes

Photo: Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA

Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA
Director, New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health
Professor, Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Email: director@ifnh.rutgers.edu
Office: IFNH 220
Phone: 848-932-3500

Research: Nutrigenomics and the relationships between nutrition and metabolic syndrome disorders; New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health

Photo: Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D.

Daniel J. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: dhoffman@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 228-B Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0890

Research: Energy metabolism and body composition

Photo: Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair

Email: jmiller@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 107 Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
Phone: 848-932-5428
Fax: 732-932-6776

Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer

Photo: Debra M. Palmer, M.Ed., Ph.D.

Debra M. Palmer, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Extension Specialist and Director
New Jersey Food Stamp Nutrition Education Program (FSNEP)

Email: dpalmer@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 11 Suydam Street, 2nd Floor
Phone: 848-932-9853

Research: Nutrition education, food security

Photo: Salome P. Rao, Ph.D.

Salome P. Rao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Email: salomeprao@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: Suite 220
NJ Institute for Food, Nutrition & Health
61 Dudley Rd, New Brunswick, NJ 08901

Photo: Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RDN

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RDN
Professor and Director, New Jersey Obesity Group

Email: shapses@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 111 Thompson Hall
Phone: 848-932-9403

Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity

Photo: Judith Storch, Ph.D.

Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Professor
, Co-Director of Graduate Program
Email: storch@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 311-D Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
Phone: 848-932-1689

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism

Photo: Barbara L. Tangel, M.S., RD

Barbara L. Tangel, M.S., RDN
Assistant Professor, Director of the Didactic Program in Dietetics

Email: bltangel@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 229-B Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0982

Photo: Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor

Office: 170 Foran Hall
Phone: 848-932-6263
Email: watford@aesop.rutgers.edu

Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression

Photo: John Worobey, Ph.D.

John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor, Director of the Undergraduate Program

Email: worobey@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 208 Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-6517, 848-932-0937

Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders