Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Dept. of Nutritional Sciences]

Departmental Faculty


Photo: Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D., Associate Professor.


Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D
.

Associate Professor
Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu
Office: 166 Foran Hall
Phone: 848-932-6331
  • Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise
Photo: Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D., Associate Professor.
Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.
Professor, Director of Graduate Program

Email: brasaemle@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 133 Thompson Hall
Phone: 732-932-6524
  • Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release
Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor
Email: breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 65 Dudley Road, Room 305
Phone: 848-932-6080
  • Research: Genetic basis of human oral perception and its impact on nutrient intake
Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., R.D., F.A.N.D.
Extension Specialist

Email: Bredbenner@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 211 Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-2382
  • Research: Nutrition education; health promotion & interventions; environmental effects on dietary intake

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: dixon@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 132 Thompson Hall
Phone: 732-932-9039
Photo: Hans Fisher, Ph.D.
Hans Fisher, Ph.D.
Professor II Emeritus

Email: fisher@aesop.rutgers.edu
  • Research: Alcohol metabolism, nutrient interactions and the alcoholic fatty liver syndrome
Photo: Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D.
Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., R.D.
Assistant Extension Specialist

Email: nfitzgerald@rcre.rutgers.edu
Office: 229a Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-3835
  • Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes
Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA
Director, New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health
Professor, Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University
Email: director@ifnh.rutgers.edu
Office: 122 Center for Advanced Food Technology
Phone: 848-932-3500

Photo: Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D.

Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: dhoffman@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 228b Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-6568
  • Research: Energy metabolism and body composition
Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair

Email: jmiller@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 107 Food Science Building
Phone: 848-932-5428
Fax: 732-932-6776
  • Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer
Debra M. Palmer, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Extension Specialist and Director
New Jersey Food Stamp Nutrition Education Program (FSNEP)

Email: dpalmer@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office:  11 Suydam Street, 2nd Floor
Phone: 732-932-9853
  • Research: Nutrition education, food security
Peggy Policastro, M.S., R.D.
Instructor and Director, Healthy Dining Team

Email: peggyp@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 225 Davison Hall
Phone:732-932-5447
  • Research: Dietary patterns of college students
Photo: Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D.
Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D.
Professor and Director, New Jersey Obesity Group

Email: shapses@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 111 Thompson Hall
Phone: 732-932-9403
  • Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity
Adria R. Sherman, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: sherman_c@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 213 Thompson Hall
Phone: 732-932-6530
  • Research: Trace elements; nutrition, immunity and cancer
Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: storch@aesop.rutgers.edu
Office: 214 Thompson Hall
Phone: 732-932-1689
  • Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism
Photo: Barbara L. Tangel, M.S., R.D.
Barbara L. Tangel, M.S., R.D.
Instructor and Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics

Email: bltangel@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 229b Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-6525
Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor
Phone: 732-932-7418
Email: watford@aesop.rutgers.edu
  • Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression
Photo: John Worobey, Ph.D.
John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor
and Director, Undergraduate Program
Email: worobey@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 208 Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-6517
  • Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders
Photo: Harriet S. Worobey, M.A.
Harriet S. Worobey, M.A.
Instructor and Director, Nutritional Sciences Preschool

Email: harrietw@rci.rutgers.edu
Office: 036, 209 Davison Hall
Phone: 732-932-8895
  • Research: Children's diet and activity
-----