Graduate Program Faculty

Photo: Brandon Alderman, Ph.D.

Brandon Alderman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Exercise Science & Sport Studies, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-7028
Email: alderman@rutgers.edu

Research: Investigate the relationship between exercise and stress

Photo: Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6331
Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu

Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise

Photo: Shawn M. Arent, Ph.D., CSCS, FACSM

Shawn M. Arent, Ph.D., CSCS, FACSM
Associate Professor
Dept. of Exercise Science & Sport Studies, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-7050
Email: shawn.arent@rutgers.edu

Research: Exercise physiology andendocrinology; sports and exercise nutrition; ergogenic aids

Photo: Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D.

Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Phone: 732-235-9874
Email: elisa.bandera@rutgers.edu

Research: Nutritional epidemiology of cancer, female hormonal cancer

Photo: Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D.

Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-2966
Email: ntbello@rutgers.edu

Research: Consequences of Dietary conditions and bingeing on noradrenergic pathways

Photo: John D. Bogden, Ph.D.

John D. Bogden, Ph.D.
Professor
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Phone: 973-972-5432
Email: john.bogden@rutgers.edu

Research: Trace element and mineral nutrition and toxicology

Photo: Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6524
Email: dawn.brasaemle@rutgers.edu

Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release, functions of lipid droplet-associated proteins

Photo: Paul Breslin, Ph.D.

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6080
Email: breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Genetics of human oral perception and fly taste perception and their impact on food and nutrient intake

Photo: Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., R.D., F.A.N.D.

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RD, FAND
Distinguished Professor, Co-Director of the Graduate Program
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0965
Email: bredbenner@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, health promotion & interventions, environmental effects on dietary intake

Photo: Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.

Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Exercise Science and Sports Studies

Phone: 732-932-9525 x18
Email: saracamp@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Exercise, cholesterol metabolism, obesity, functional foods and chronic disease

Photo: George Carman, Ph. D.

George Carman, Ph.D.
Professor II
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5407
Email: gcarman@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism

Photo: Wendie Cohick, Ph.D.

Wendie Cohick, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6319
Email: cohick@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Endocrine regulation of mammary gland biology and breast cancer

Photo: Paul R. Copeland, Ph.D.

Paul R. Copeland, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Molecular Genetics, Microbiology, and Immunology, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Phone: 732-235-4670
Email: paul.copeland@rutgers.edu

Research: Selenocysteine utilization, translational regulation of gene expression

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9039
Email: dixon@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, lipid metabolism in diabetes and obesity; Dixon Laboratory

Photo: Julie M. Fagan, Ph.D.

Julie M. Fagan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-8354
Email: fagan@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Muscle growth, mechanisms of protein breakdown

Photo: Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D.

Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology and Physiology, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Phone: 973-972-4519
Email: ferraris@rutgers.edu

Research: Gastrointestinal physiology, membrane transport

Photo: Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., R.D.

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University
Email: nurgul.fitzgerald@rutgers.edu
Office: 229a Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0981

Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes

Photo: Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA.

Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA
Director, New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health
Professor, Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Email: director@ifnh.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-932-3500

Research: Nutrigenomics and the relationships between nutrition and metabolic syndrome disorders; New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health

Photo: Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D.

Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

Phone: 848-445-8186
Email: guo@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Bile acids, nuclear receptors, liver and intestine crosstalk, fatty liver diseases, liver cancer

Photo: William K. Hallman, Ph.D.

William K. Hallman, Ph.D.
Chair
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9227
Email: hallman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Risk perception, risk communication, consumer attitudes and behavior, food policy

Photo: Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D.

Daniel J. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0980 / 848-932-0272
Email: dhoffman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Energy metabolism and body composition

Photo: Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D.

Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9095
Email: barry.jesse@rutgers.edu

Research: Post-natal GI tract development

Photo: Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D.

Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Human Ecology and Africana Studies

Phone: 848-932-9233
Fax: 732-932-8887
Email: nokwate@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Social determinants of African American health, food environments; Kwate Laboratory

Photo: Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D.

Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D.
Professor II and Chair
Dept. of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

Phone: 848-445-5862
Email: laskin@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Immunology; mechanisms regulating nonspecific host defense

Photo: Barry Levin, M.D.

Barry Levin, MD
Professor
Dept. of Neurology & Neurosciences, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Phone: 973-676-1000 x1442 / 973-973-5209
Email: levin@rutgers.edu

Research: Energy Balance, Hypothalamus, Diabetes, Obesity

Photo: Peter Lobel, Ph.D.

Peter Lobel, Ph.D.
Professor
Center for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Phone: 848-445-9831
Email: lobel@cabm.rutgers.edu

Research: Cellular protein degradation and disease

Photo: Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D.

Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: (848) 932-9390
Fax: (732) 932-6996
Email: mckeever@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Comparative exercise and cardiovascular physiology

Photo: Joshua Miller, Ph.D.

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor
Chair, Dept. of Nutritonal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5428
Fax: 732-932-6776
Email: joshua.miller@rutgers.edu

Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer

Photo: Debra M. Palmer, M.Ed., Ph.D.

Debra M. Palmer, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Professor/ Extension Specialist and Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9853
Email: dpalmer@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, food security

Photo: Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5491
Email: quadro@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrient metabolism and effects on human health throughout the lifecycle

Photo: Virginia Quick, Ph.D.

Virginia Quick, Ph.D., RD
Interim Director of the Didactic Program in Dietetcs
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0950
Email: vquick@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Etiology and prevention of obesity and disordered eating behaviors, community nutrition interventions, and program assessment and evaluation across the lifespan with special interest in those with diet-related chronic health conditions

Photo: Ilya  Raskin, Ph.D.

Ilya Raskin, Ph.D.
Professor II
Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology and Biotechnology Center

Phone: 848-932-6267
Email: raskin@rutgers.edu

Research: Botanical therapeutics, biomedical agriculture

Photo: Yana Rodgers, Ph.D.

Yana Rodgers, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Women's and Gender Studies, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-8411
Email: yana.rodgers@rutgers.edu

Research: Children's nutrition , development economics

Photo: Troy Roepke, Ph.D.

Troy Roepke, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9454
Email: ta.roepke@rutgers.edu

Research: Effect of Environmental stresses, both naturally occurring and anthropogenic, on the physiological functions of organisms

Photo: Harini Sampath, Ph.D..

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0266
Email: sampath@ifnh.rutgers.edu

Research: Oxidative DNA damage impairment to metabolic homeostasis; base excision repair of oxidative DNA damage influences metabolic health; relationships between changes in the diversity of the gut microbiome and metabolic and inflammatory diseases

Photo: Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D..

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Extension Specialist
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5411
Email: don.schaffner@rutgers.edu

Research: Predictive Food Microbiology; quantitative microbial risk assessment

Photo: Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D.

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RD
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9403
Email: shapses@rutgers.edu

Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity

Photo: Labros Sidossis, Ph.D.

Labros Sidossis, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Kinesiology and Health Professor, Department of Medicine
Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 848-932-9512
Email: lss133@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Lifestyle determinants of obesity and metabolic diseases

Photo: Judith Storch, Ph.D.

Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Co-Director of the Graduate Program
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-1689
Email: storch@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism

Photo: Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D.

Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-445-8030
Email: nsuh@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Mechanistic study of cancer prevention & inflammation-natural/synthetic agents

Photo: Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D.

Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5417
Email: btepper@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Food intake regulation, taste in disease

Photo: T.J. Thomas, Ph.D.

T.J. Thomas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Deptartment of Medicine
Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Phone: 732-235-8460
Email: thomastj@rwjms.rutgers.edu

Research: Polyamine metabolism, autoimmune disease

Photo: Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6263
Email: watford@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression

Photo: G. Terence Wilson, Ph.D.

G. Terence Wilson, Ph.D.
Professor
Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology

Phone: 848-445-3983 / 848-445-2194
Email: tewilson@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Eating disorders

Photo: John Worobey, Ph.D.

John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor, Undergraduate Program Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0937 / 848-932-0966
Email: worobey@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders

Photo: Chung S. Yang, Ph.D.

Chung S. Yang, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology and Pharmacognosy, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-445-5360
Email: Email: csyang@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Drug-nutrient interactions, nutrition and cancer