Skip Navigation
Menu

Department Faculty

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D. headshot.

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.
Professor

tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu
166 Foran Hall
848-932-6331

Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor

breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu
305 Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
848-932-6080

Research: Genetic basis of human oral perception and its impact on nutrient intake

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RDN, FAND headshot.

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RD, FAND
Distinguished Professor, Graduate Program
Director
bredbenner@sebs.rutgers.edu
211 Davison Hall
848-932-0965

Research: Nutrition education; health promotion & interventions; environmental effects on dietary intake

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor. headshot.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

dixon@sebs.rutgers.edu
167 Foran Hall
848-932-9039
Dixon Laboratory

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, coronary arteriosclerosis

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D. headshot.

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist

nfitzgerald@njaes.rutgers.edu
229-A Davison Hall
848-932-0981

Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes

Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D. headshot.

Daniel J. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

dhoffman@sebs.rutgers.edu
228-B Davison Hall / IFNH, Suite 220
848-932-0890 / 848-932-0272

Research: Energy metabolism and body composition

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D. headshot.

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair

jmiller@sebs.rutgers.edu
107 Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
848-932-5428

Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer

Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.

Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Extension Specialist and Director
New Jersey Food Stamp Nutrition Education Program (FSNEP)

dkeenan@njaes.rutgers.edu
202 Davison Hall
848-932-9853

Research: Nutrition education, food security

Pinkin Panchal, MS, RDN

Pinkin Panchal, MS, RDN (190k PDF)
Assistant Teaching Professor and ISPP Coordinator

pinkin.panchal@rutgers.edu
210 Davison Hall

Virginia Quick, Ph.D., RD

Virginia Quick, Ph.D., RD
Director of the Didactic Program in Dietetics

vquick@njaes.rutgers.edu
209 Davison Hall / IFNH, Suite 220
848-932-0950

Research: Etiology and prevention of obesity and disordered eating behaviors, community nutrition interventions, and program assessment and evaluation across the lifespan with special interest in those with diet-related chronic health conditions

Salome P. Rao, Ph.D., RD headshot.

Salome P. Rao, Ph.D., RD
Assistant Teaching Professor

sprao@sebs.rutgers.edu
IFNH, Suite 220

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.. headshot.

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

harini.sampath@rutgers.edu
848-932-0266

Research: Oxidative DNA damage impairment to metabolic homeostasis, base excision repair of oxidative DNA damage influences metabolic health, relationships between changes in the diversity of the gut microbiome and metabolic and inflammatory diseases

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RDN headshot.

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RD
Professor and Director, New Jersey Obesity Group

shapses@rutgers.edu
168/195-A Foran Hall
848-932-9403

Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity

Judith Storch, Ph.D.

Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor

storch@sebs.rutgers.edu
311-D Food Science & Nutritional Sciences Building
848-932-1689

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor

watford@sebs.rutgers.edu
170 Foran Hall
848-932-6263

Research: Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression

John Worobey, Ph.D. headshot.

John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor, Director of the Undergraduate Program

worobey@sebs.rutgers.edu
208 Davison Hall / IFNH, Suite 220
848-932-0937 / 848-932-0966

Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders

Emeritus Faculty

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D. headshot.

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

dawn.brasaemle@rutgers.edu

Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release

Hans Fisher, Ph.D. headshot.

Hans Fisher, Ph.D.
Professor II Emeritus

fisher@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Alcohol metabolism, nutrient interactions and the alcoholic fatty liver syndrome

Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA headshot.

Peter Gillies, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

pgillies@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrigenomics and the relationships between nutrition and metabolic syndrome disorders