Graduate Program Faculty

Photo: Brandon Alderman, Ph.D.

Brandon Alderman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Kinesiology & Health, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-7028
Email: alderman@rutgers.edu

Research:Psychophysiology, Cognitive Neuroscience, Clinical Interventions

Photo: Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6331
Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu

Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise

Photo: Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D.

Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Phone: 732-235-9874
Email: elisa.bandera@rutgers.edu

Research: Nutritional epidemiology of cancer, female hormonal cancer

Photo: Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D.

Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-2966
Email: ntbello@rutgers.edu

Research: Consequences of Dietary conditions and bingeing on noradrenergic pathways

Photo: Paul Breslin, Ph.D.

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6080
Email: breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Genetics of human oral perception and fly taste perception and their impact on food and nutrient intake

Photo: Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., R.D., F.A.N.D.

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RD, FAND
Distinguished Professor, Graduate Program Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0965
Email: bredbenner@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, health promotion & interventions, environmental effects on dietary intake

Photo: Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.

Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Kinesiology & Health, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-7036
Email: saracamp@kines.rutgers.edu

Research: Exercise influences on gut microbes and intestinal health

Photo: George Carman, Ph. D.

George Carman, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0267
Email: gcarman@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism

Photo: Wendie Cohick, Ph.D.

Wendie Cohick, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6319
Email: cohick@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Endocrine regulation of mammary gland biology and breast cancer

Photo: Cara L. Cuite, Ph.D.

Cara L. Cuite, Ph.D.
Assistant Extension Specialist
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-4544
Email: cuite@rutgers.edu

Research: Community food security, public perceptions of food safety and novel food technologies

Photo: Karen D'Alonzo, Ph.D.. RN, APN-c, FAAN

Karen D'Alonzo, Ph.D.. RN, APN-c, FAAN
Associate Dean, Nursing Science & Associate Professor
Division of Nursing Science, Rutgers School of Nursing

Phone: 973-353-1061 / 848-932-0879
Email: kdalonzo@rutgers.edu

Research: biobehavioral approaches to promotion of physical activity and the prevention/management of obesity

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9039
Email: dixon@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, lipid metabolism in diabetes and obesity
Dixon Laboratory

Photo: Abdelfattah El Ouaamari, Ph.D.

Abdelfattah El Ouaamari, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Medicine
The Child Health Institute of New Jersey
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Phone: 732-235-8460
Email: abdelfattah.elouaamari@rutgers.edu

Research: Organ Crosstalk, Energy Homeostasis, Pancreas, Insulin-Producing ß Cells, Diabetes
El Ouaamari Laboratory

Photo: Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello, Ph.D.

Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry & Microbiology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5648
Email: mg.dominguez-bello@rutgers.edu

Research: Microbiome impacts of modern lifestyle & restoration
Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello Laboratory

Photo: Julie M. Fagan, Ph.D.

Julie M. Fagan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-8354
Email: fagan@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Muscle growth, mechanisms of protein breakdown

Photo: Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D.

Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology & Physiology, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Phone: 973-972-4519
Email: ferraris@rutgers.edu

Research: Gastrointestinal physiology, membrane transport

Photo: Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., R.D.

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University
Email: nurgul.fitzgerald@rutgers.edu
Office: 229a Davison Hall
Phone: 848-932-0981

Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes

Photo: Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D.

Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

Phone: 848-445-8186
Email: guo@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Bile acids, nuclear receptors, liver and intestine crosstalk, fatty liver diseases, liver cancer

Photo: William K. Hallman, Ph.D.

William K. Hallman, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9227
Email: hallman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Risk perception, risk communication, consumer attitudes and behavior, food policy

Photo: Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D.

Daniel J. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0980 / 848-932-0272
Email: dhoffman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Energy metabolism and body composition

Photo: Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D.

Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9095
Email: barry.jesse@rutgers.edu

Research: Post-natal GI tract development

Photo: Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D.

Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Human Ecology and Africana Studies

Phone: 848-932-9233
Fax: 732-932-8887
Email: nokwate@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Social determinants of African American health, food environments; Kwate Laboratory

Photo: Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D.

Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D.
Professor II and Chair
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

Phone: 848-445-5862
Email: laskin@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Immunology; mechanisms regulating nonspecific host defense

Photo: Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D.

Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: (848) 932-9390
Fax: (732) 932-6996
Email: mckeever@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Comparative exercise and cardiovascular physiology

Photo: Joshua Miller, Ph.D.

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Dept. of Nutritonal Sciences, Rutgers University
Phone: 848-932-5428
Fax: 732-932-6776
Email: joshua.miller@rutgers.edu

Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer

Photo: Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.

Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist and Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9853
Email: dkeenan@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, food security

Photo: Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5491
Email: quadro@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrient metabolism and effects on human health throughout the lifecycle

Photo: Virginia Quick, Ph.D.

Virginia Quick, Ph.D., RD
Assistant Teaching Professor and Director of the Didactic Program in Dietetcs
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0950
Email: vquick@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Research: obesity and disordered eating, community nutrition, program assessment and evaluation, diet-related chronic disease

Photo: Ilya  Raskin, Ph.D.

Ilya Raskin, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology and Biotechnology Center

Phone: 848-932-6267
Email: raskin@rutgers.edu

Research: Botanical therapeutics, biomedical agriculture

Photo: Yana Rodgers, Ph.D.

Yana Rodgers, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Women's & Gender Studies, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-8411
Email: yana.rodgers@rutgers.edu

Research: Children's nutrition , development economics

Photo: Troy Roepke, Ph.D.

Troy Roepke, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9454
Email: ta.roepke@rutgers.edu

Research: The interactions of hormones, diets, endocrine disruptors, and maternal influences on the hypothalamic control of energy homeostasis, reproduction, and thermoregulation

Photo: Diana E. Roopchand, Ph.D..

Diana E. Roopchand, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0248
Email: diana.roopchand@rutgers.edu

Research: Interactions between dietary components, gut microbiota, and intestinal epithelium strongly influence host health

Photo: Harini Sampath, Ph.D..

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0266
Email: sampath@ifnh.rutgers.edu

Research: Oxidative DNA damage impairment to metabolic homeostasis; base excision repair of oxidative DNA damage influences metabolic health; relationships between changes in the diversity of the gut microbiome and metabolic and inflammatory diseases

Photo: Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor / Extension Specialist
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5411
Email: don.schaffner@rutgers.edu

Research: Predictive Food Microbiology; quantitative microbial risk assessment

Photo: Ethan D. Schoolman, Ph.D.

Ethan D. Schoolman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9232
Email: ethan.schoolman@rutgers.edu

Research: Environmental and social dimensions of local, regional and alternative food systems

Photo: Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D.

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RD
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-9403
Email: shapses@rutgers.edu

Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity

Photo: Labros Sidossis, Ph.D.

Labros Sidossis, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Department of Kinesiology & Health
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 848-932-9512
Email: lss133@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Lifestyle determinants of obesity and metabolic diseases

Photo: Judith Storch, Ph.D.

Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-1689
Email: storch@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism

Photo: Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D.

Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-445-8030
Email: nsuh@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Mechanistic study of cancer prevention & inflammation-natural/synthetic agents

Photo: Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D.

Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-5417
Email: btepper@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Food intake regulation, taste in disease

Photo: T.J. Thomas, Ph.D.

T.J. Thomas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Phone: 732-235-8460
Email: thomastj@rwjms.rutgers.edu

Research: Polyamine metabolism, autoimmune disease

Photo: Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-6263
Email: watford@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression

Photo: John Worobey, Ph.D.

John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor, Undergraduate Program Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-932-0937 / 848-932-0966
Email: worobey@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders

Photo: Chung S. Yang, Ph.D.

Chung S. Yang, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology & Pharmacognosy, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-445-5360
Email: Email: csyang@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Drug-nutrient interactions, nutrition and cancer

Photo: Liping Zhao, Ph.D.

Liping Zhao, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry & Microbiology, Rutgers University

Phone: 848-445-5675
Email: Email: liping.zhao@rutgers.edu

Research: Molecular and genomic tools, microbiota, medicinal foods