Skip Navigation
Menu

Graduate Program Faculty

Brandon Alderman, Ph.D. headshot.

Brandon Alderman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Kinesiology & Health, Rutgers University

848-932-7028
alderman@rutgers.edu

Research: Psychophysiology, Cognitive Neuroscience, Clinical Interventions

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D. headshot.

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-6331
tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu

Research: Protein and amino acid metabolism; adaptation to cell stress by eIF2 and mTOR pathways; nutrition and exercise

Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D. headshot.

Elisa V. Bandera, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

732-235-9874
elisa.bandera@rutgers.edu

Research: Nutritional epidemiology of cancer, female hormonal cancer

Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D. headshot.

Nicholas T. Bello, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-2966
ntbello@rutgers.edu

Research: Consequences of Dietary conditions and bingeing on noradrenergic pathways

Paul Breslin, Ph.D. headshot.

Paul Breslin, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-6080
breslin@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Genetics of human oral perception and fly taste perception and their impact on food and nutrient intake

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., R.D., F.A.N.D. headshot.

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, Ph.D., RD, FAND
Distinguished Professor, Graduate Program Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0965
bredbenner@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, health promotion & interventions, environmental effects on dietary intake

Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.

Sara C. Campbell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Kinesiology & Health, Rutgers University

848-932-7036
saracamp@kines.rutgers.edu

Research: Exercise influences on gut microbes and intestinal health

George Carman, Ph. D. headshot.

George Carman, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

848-932-0267
gcarman@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism

Wendie Cohick, Ph.D. headshot.

Wendie Cohick, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-6319
cohick@aesop.rutgers.edu

Research: Endocrine regulation of mammary gland biology and breast cancer

Cara L. Cuite, Ph.D. headshot.

Cara L. Cuite, Ph.D.
Assistant Extension Specialist
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

848-932-4544
cuite@rutgers.edu

Research: Community food security, public perceptions of food safety and novel food technologies

Karen D'Alonzo, Ph.D.. RN, APN-c, FAAN headshot.

Karen D'Alonzo, Ph.D.. RN, APN-c, FAAN
Associate Dean, Nursing Science & Associate Professor
Division of Nursing Science, Rutgers School of Nursing

973-353-1061 / 848-932-0879
kdalonzo@rutgers.edu

Research: biobehavioral approaches to promotion of physical activity and the prevention/management of obesity

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D. headshot.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9039
dixon@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, lipid metabolism in diabetes and obesity
Dixon Laboratory

Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello, Ph.D.

Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry & Microbiology, Rutgers University

848-932-5648
mg.dominguez-bello@rutgers.edu
Maria Gloria Dominguez-Bello Laboratory

Research: Microbiome impacts of modern lifestyle & restoration

Shauna M. Downs, Ph.D., MS

Shauna M. Downs, Ph.D., MS
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Urban-Global Public Health
Rutgers University School of Public Health

sd1081@rutgers.edu

Research: Food policy; value chains; sustainable diets; food environments

Abdelfattah El Ouaamari, Ph.D. headshot.

Abdelfattah El Ouaamari, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Medicine
The Child Health Institute of New Jersey
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

732-235-8460
abdelfattah.elouaamari@rutgers.edu
El Ouaamari Laboratory

Research: Organ Crosstalk, Energy Homeostasis, Pancreas, Insulin-Producing ß Cells, Diabetes

Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D. headshot.

Ronaldo P. Ferraris, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology & Physiology, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

973-972-4519
ferraris@rutgers.edu

Research: Gastrointestinal physiology, membrane transport

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., R.D. headshot.

Nurgül Fitzgerald, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University
nurgul.fitzgerald@rutgers.edu
Office: 229a Davison Hall
848-932-0981

Research: Community nutrition, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, diabetes

Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D. headshot.

Grace L. Guo, MBBS, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

848-445-8186
guo@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Bile acids, nuclear receptors, liver and intestine crosstalk, fatty liver diseases, liver cancer

William K. Hallman, Ph.D. headshot.

William K. Hallman, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

848-932-9227
hallman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Risk perception, risk communication, consumer attitudes and behavior, food policy

Daniel Hoffman, Ph.D. headshot.

Daniel J. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0980 / 848-932-0272
dhoffman@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Energy metabolism and body composition

Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D. headshot.

Barry W. Jesse, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9095
barry.jesse@rutgers.edu

Research: Post-natal GI tract development

Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D. headshot.

Naa Oyo A. Kwate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Human Ecology and Africana Studies

848-932-9233
nokwate@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Social determinants of African American health, food environments; Kwate Laboratory

Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D. headshot.

Debra L. Laskin, Ph.D.
Professor II and Chair
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Rutgers University School of Pharmacy

848-445-5862
laskin@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Immunology; mechanisms regulating nonspecific host defense

Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D. headshot.

Kenneth H. McKeever, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9390
mckeever@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Comparative exercise and cardiovascular physiology

Joshua Miller, Ph.D. headshot.

Joshua W. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Dept. of Nutritonal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-5428
joshua.miller@rutgers.edu

Research: B vitamins, homocysteine, and one-carbon metabolism; cognitive function and dementia in older adults; mammary development and cancer

Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.

Debra M. Palmer-Keenan, M.Ed., Ph.D.
Associate Professor / Extension Specialist and Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9853
dkeenan@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrition education, food security

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

848-932-5491
quadro@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrient metabolism and effects on human health throughout the lifecycle

Virginia Quick, Ph.D. headshot.

Virginia Quick, Ph.D., RD
Assistant Teaching Professor and Director of the Didactic Program in Dietetcs
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0950
vquick@njaes.rutgers.edu

Research: Research: obesity and disordered eating, community nutrition, program assessment and evaluation, diet-related chronic disease

Ilya  Raskin, Ph.D. headshot.

Ilya Raskin, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology and Biotechnology Center

848-932-6267
raskin@rutgers.edu

Research: Botanical therapeutics, biomedical agriculture

Yana Rodgers, Ph.D. headshot.

Yana Rodgers, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Women's & Gender Studies, Rutgers University

848-932-8411
yana.rodgers@rutgers.edu

Research: Children's nutrition , development economics

Troy Roepke, Ph.D. headshot.

Troy Roepke, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Animal Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9454
ta.roepke@rutgers.edu

Research: The interactions of hormones, diets, endocrine disruptors, and maternal influences on the hypothalamic control of energy homeostasis, reproduction, and thermoregulation

Diana E. Roopchand, Ph.D.. headshot.

Diana E. Roopchand, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

848-932-0248
diana.roopchand@rutgers.edu

Research: Interactions between dietary components, gut microbiota, and intestinal epithelium strongly influence host health

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.. headshot.

Harini Sampath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0266
sampath@ifnh.rutgers.edu

Research: Oxidative DNA damage impairment to metabolic homeostasis; base excision repair of oxidative DNA damage influences metabolic health; relationships between changes in the diversity of the gut microbiome and metabolic and inflammatory diseases

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D. headshot.

Donald W. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor / Extension Specialist
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

848-932-5411
don.schaffner@rutgers.edu

Research: Predictive Food Microbiology; quantitative microbial risk assessment

Ethan D. Schoolman, Ph.D. headshot.

Ethan D. Schoolman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Human Ecology, Rutgers University

848-932-9232
ethan.schoolman@rutgers.edu

Research: Environmental and social dimensions of local, regional and alternative food systems

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D. headshot.

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., RD
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-9403
shapses@rutgers.edu

Research: Osteoporosis, bone metabolism and obesity

Labros Sidossis, Ph.D. headshot.

Labros Sidossis, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Department of Kinesiology & Health
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
848-932-9512
lss133@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Lifestyle determinants of obesity and metabolic diseases

Judith Storch, Ph.D. headshot.

Judith Storch, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-1689
storch@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of lipid transport proteins, intestinal lipid transport and systemic energy metabolism

Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D. headshot.

Nanjoo Suh, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology, Rutgers University

848-445-8030
nsuh@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Mechanistic study of cancer prevention & inflammation-natural/synthetic agents

Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D. headshot.

Beverly J. Tepper, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Food Science, Rutgers University

848-932-5417
btepper@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Food intake regulation, taste in disease

T.J. Thomas, Ph.D. headshot.

T.J. Thomas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. of Medicine, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

732-235-8460
thomastj@rwjms.rutgers.edu

Research: Polyamine metabolism, autoimmune disease

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil. headshot.

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil.
Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-6263
watford@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of glutamine metabolism, glutaminase gene expression

John Worobey, Ph.D. headshot.

John Worobey, Ph.D., FAPA
Professor, Undergraduate Program Director
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0937 / 848-932-0966
worobey@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Infant nutrition and behavior, children's diet and activity, eating disorders

Chung S. Yang, Ph.D. headshot.

Chung S. Yang, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Chemical Biology & Pharmacognosy, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers University

848-445-5360
csyang@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Drug-nutrient interactions, nutrition and cancer

Liping Zhao, Ph.D. headshot.

Liping Zhao, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry & Microbiology, Rutgers University

848-445-5675
liping.zhao@rutgers.edu

Research: Molecular and genomic tools, microbiota, medicinal foods

Affiliate Members

Pinkin Panchal, MS, RDN headshot.


Pinkin Panchal, MS, RDN
Assistant Teaching Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

848-932-0938
panchal@sebs.rutgers.edu

Peggy Policastro, Ph.D., RDN headshot.


Peggy Policastro, Ph.D., RDN
Director of Culinary Literacy & Nutrition
IFNH/Dining Services

848-932-5447
peggyp@rutgers.edu

Salome Rao, Ph.D., RD headshot.


Salome P. Rao, Ph.D., RD
Assistant Teaching Professor
Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, Rutgers University

rao@sebs.rutgers.edu